Could I get it lowered? Also what should I do? I'm in Texas. Also any other things that could help me. I'm 19 and I'm a full time college student too.
For a class A misdemeanor, the worst that can happen in Texas is a sentence of 1 year in jail and upto a 4,000 fine. Most misdemeanors in Texas result in probation, and do not result in jail time. Because you are a student, I highly doubt you will have to do any jail time. You may be able to get your case lowered or dismissed depending on the specific facts. I highly recommend that you consult a criminal defense attorney that works in the county where the alleged crime took place, so that you can find out the best strategy for your case.
You need to hire the best attorney you can afford. Class A is punishable up to $4000 and 1 year in jail. You really need to hire an attorney and fight it.
Ask a local attorney a question for FREE.
FREE answer from a local attorney.
Your email is only used to send answers to you.